Back

GRAND & HUMBLE

(Puzzle Box Thriller) Two troubled teen boys, the most popular kid in school and the least popular, struggle to understand the shocking secret that links them both together.

Harlan, the most popular kid in his high school, is having premonitions of his own death. Manny, the least popular kid, is having terrifying nightmares of his distant past. Each is determined to find out what it means -- and how to stop it.

But that's easier said than done. Harlan's socialite mother and Manny's working class father seem to know something about what's going on, but they're determined to keep the truth buried forever.

Does the secret of these nightmares and premonitions lie in the visions of the other boy? Unfortunately, while Harlan and Manny attend the same high school, they inhabit entirely different universes. As a result, they don't know that they have something very important in common: fourteen years ago, when they were both just three years old, a tragedy occurred at the corner of Grand & Humble.

And as close as the two of them keep coming to learning what the other knows about that accident, something always seems to keep them apart.

In a final showdown with their parents, Harlan and Manny's paths finally cross, in a twist ending in the tradition of The Sixth Sense and The Usual Suspects.

Script Excerpt
Written by:
Format:
Screenplay
Starring Roles For:
Teen Male
Teen Male, Latino
Female, 50s
In the Vein Of:
The Sixth Sense
Memento
The Usual Suspects
Posted:
09/06/2014
Updated:
11/02/2019
Author Bio:
BRENT HARTINGER has had nine screenplays optioned for film; four of those projects are currently in various stages of development, including PROJECT SWEET LIFE, a teen caper story, now in pre-production.

Brent is also a novelist, and three of his books have been optioned for film. His fourteen novels include THREE TRUTHS AND A LIE (Simon & Schuster, 2016), which was nominated for an Edgar Award; and GEOGRAPHY CLUB (HarperCollins, 2003), which was adapted as a feature film in 2013, co-starring Scott Bakula, and is now being developed as a television series.

Show More

Contest Results:
Creative Screenwriting (Semifinalist, (Final Results Pending)) [2019]
Stage 32 New Blood (Quarterfinalist, Final Results Pending) [2019]
Beverly Hills Screenplay (Second Place)
Show More