Cosby Program Announces 2008 Program Recipients

Starting its fourteenth year, THE GUY A. HANKS & MARVIN MILLER SCREENWRITING PROGRAM, has accepted the following individuals into the 2008 program: David Abernathy, Kimberly Allen, Michael Bandy, Andre Gaines, Michael Glenn, Reggie Harper, Paul Hayes, Torrance Hill, Kamal Abdul-Jabbaar, Kiki McKnight, Vivian Peyton, Dee Rees, Marlon Reid, Eric Stein, Shequeta Smith, Marlene Taylor, Lori Webster, Eyvonne Williams, and Andre Wiggins.

Established by Drs. Bill and Camille Cosby at the USC School of Cinematic Arts, the goal of the program is to increase the pool of qualified diverse writers for the entertainment industry and has single handedly brought more successful African-American Writers into the entertainment industry than any other program of its type.

The writers selected for this program are intermediate to advanced level television and feature writers. They usually have no produced credits, but are on the brink of great success. Alumni are highly respected in the industry and are sought after as skilled writers. Past participants have excelled in the entertainment industry and have been honored by governmental and local organizations including the NAACP.

Program alumni are a primary source for recruiting for the Disney Writing Fellowship, the Fox Diversity Program, CBS Television Program, the Nickelodeon Writer's Program and the Warner Brothers Comedy and Drama Writing Program. Alumni are also sought after by top agencies including UTA, William Morris, ICM and CAA, to name a few.

Updated: 03/06/2008

Additional Contest Info: